出柜 + 公开

无论你是否已经与男性有过性生活,或刚刚开始考虑这种可能性,明白自己的性取向并能告诉其他人,是健康充实生活的一个重要方面。这可能是你不得不做的最艰难的事情之一,需要时间和谨慎策划,但“出柜”会打开一个充满机会的世界,让你以男同志或男双性恋者的身份公开而快乐地生活。

关于出柜的考虑事项

已经出柜的男同志或男双性恋者大多会告诉你,出柜是一个终生的过程,无论难易程度如何,出柜的方式并无对错之分。接受并告诉别人你是同志或双性恋者,是一个极为私人的决定,也是改变人生的决定,应该以自己的方式按自己的意愿进行。

在电视和电影中,在运动场和教会,在学校和家庭,对男同志的成见无处不在。尽管社会对男女同性恋、双性恋和跨性别人的接受度日益提高,且科学界一致认为同 性恋并非是个人选择的问题,但对于同性恋群体的错误认识及无知继续存在。

公开自己是男同志或男双性恋者,并不意味着你必须做自己不愿做的事情,记住这一点很重要。许多男同志后来有了家庭,有稳定的关系并有自己的孩子。同性恋或 双性恋不一定能说明你是什么人,而只是你本人的一部分。

开启自己的出柜过程:

从小范围开始:

选择出柜或公开自己的性取向并不意味着你必须在所有时候或所有地方都“出柜”。起初告诉好朋友而非家人可能会容易些。即便是对于自认为已经“出柜”的人而言,仅告诉某些人(即朋友)而不告诉其他人(即大家庭),也并非不常见。

耐心:

给自己充裕的时间来规划和处理自己的感觉至关重要。没有必要一下子告诉生活中的每个人;慢慢来,不要催促自己。在整个出柜过程中,有五味杂呈的感觉是很常见的,如果你的感觉错综复杂,彼此矛盾,不要感到意外:

了解更多

求助:

如果你刚好认识其他男女同性恋者、双性恋者或跨性别者,可以考虑请他们分享他们自己的出柜经历。互联网是一个查找出柜故事的好地方,听别人在告诉其他人自己的性取向时所经历的挣扎和坚持,会得到莫大的鼓舞。从了解这些人的故事起步。

你可能会发觉,借助于顾问或同志支持团体等资源会很有帮助。他们能帮助你理清这一复杂纷乱的过程,帮助你决定安全的出柜过程。

告诉家人:

许多男同志和男双性恋者因出柜后遭到排斥而经历情感上的痛苦,请务必记住,你不用独自承受这一切。让自己置身于认同和肯定你的人之中,倾吐自己的痛苦,会让你好过一些。

向有类似经历的其他人吐露心声的确会有帮助,释放你的出柜伤痛能帮助你走出下一步,以同志的身份健康充实地生活下去。这需要时间和勇气,但这是值得的,因为倾诉并知道其他人曾经承受了类似挑战后,你会感到解脱。

承受失落:

许多男同志和男双性恋者因出柜后遭到排斥而经历情感上的痛苦,请务必记住,你不用独自承受这一切。让自己置身于认同和肯定你的人之中,倾吐自己的痛苦,会让你好过一些。

向有类似经历的其他人吐露心声的确会有帮助,释放你的出柜伤痛能帮助你走出下一步,以同志的身份健康充实地生活下去。这需要时间和勇气,但这是值得的,因为倾诉并知道其他人曾经承受了类似挑战后,你会感到解脱。

更多的出柜资源:

Coming Out + Being ‘Out’

Whether you’ve already had sex with men, or you’ve just started to consider the possibility, making sense of your sexuality and being able to share it with others is an important aspect of a healthy and fulfilling life. It might be one of the hardest things you’ll ever have to do and may require time and careful planning, but “coming out” opens a world of opportunity to live openly and happily as a gay or bisexual man.

Things to Consider About Coming Out

Most gay or bisexual men who have ‘come out’ will tell you that coming out is a lifelong process, and regardless of how easy or difficult, there is no right or wrong way to do it. Accepting and telling others that you are gay or bisexual is an extremely personal and life changing decision that should be done in your own way and on your own terms.

Stereotypes about gay men are everywhere – in TV and movies, in sports and in churches, and in our schools and our homes. While there is growing acceptance of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people, including a scientific consensus that being gay is not a choice, misinformation and ignorance about the gay community persist.

It’s important to remember that coming out as a gay or bisexual guy doesn’t have to mean anything you don’t want it to. Many gay men go on to have families, including stable relationships and having children of their own. Being gay or bisexual doesn’t have to define who you are – it’s simply a part of who you are.

Embarking on your own coming out process:

Start Small

Choosing to come out or be open about your sexuality does not mean you have to be ‘out’ at all times or in all places. It can be easier to start by telling close friends than by telling family. It’s not uncommon, even for men who consider themselves to be ‘out’, to only be out to a certain group of people (i.e. friends) but not others (i.e. extended family).

Be Patient

Giving yourself time to plan and process your feelings is really important. It’s not necessary to tell everyone in your life at once; take your time and don’t push yourself. Throughout the coming out process, it’s common to feel a tremendous range of emotions, and don’t be surprised if your feelings are mixed and conflicted.

If you don’t feel like you have anyone that you can talk to, consider talking to a counsellor or support worker at HIM about how you are feeling in a confidential and safe space:

LEARN MORE

Get Help

If you happen to know others that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender, consider asking them to share their coming out experiences. The Internet is a great place to find coming out stories – hearing about someone else’s struggle and perseverance regarding their experience telling others about their sexuality can be a tremendous source of inspiration. Get started by checking out these guys’ stories.

You might find it helpful to access resources such as a counsellor or an LGBT support group to talk to. They can help you navigate this complicated and messy process, and help you determine a safe coming out process.

Sharing with Family

Realizing that you might be gay or bisexual does not mean that you must come out to your family – at least not before you’re ready to. While it’s natural to want to be open and be accepted by your family, it’s important to look out for your own security and well being in case their response is hurtful or hostile. If you suspect that your family will force you out of the house or cut off other types of financial support, you may want to wait until they don’t have this power over you.

Avoid coming out in the middle of an argument or out of anger or spite – adding heated and negative emotions to an already sensitive discussion will make it more difficult to be heard and respected. If you decide to tell family, think about someone who you can trust to support you in your family. If you think a brother, sister, or cousin will take it easier than others in your family, start there.

Dealing with Loss

Many gay and bisexual men experience emotional pain from rejection after coming out, and it’s important to remember that you don’t have to deal with it alone. Surrounding yourself with accepting and positive people will make it easier for you to talk through your pain.

Confiding in others with similar experiences can be really helpful, and releasing your coming out wounds can help you move on to a healthy and fulfilling life as a gay person. This takes time and courage, but the relief that comes from sharing and knowing that others have dealt with similar challenges is well worth it.

More Coming Out Resources: