出柜 + 公开

无论你是否已经与男性有过性生活,或刚刚开始考虑这种可能性,明白自己的性取向并能告诉其他人,是健康充实生活的一个重要方面。这可能是你不得不做的最艰难的事情之一,需要时间和谨慎策划,但“出柜”会打开一个充满机会的世界,让你以男同志或男双性恋者的身份公开而快乐地生活。

在保守的家庭或文化环境中出柜

出柜是一种自我接纳、发现和产生力量的经历,可使人解脱,但也可能是一个充满风险、错综复杂而痛苦压抑的过程,特别是我们预想到会遭到排斥、摒弃时,而如果这种排斥、摒弃来自家庭,就更遭了。无论是否因为文化或宗教的因素,当我们害怕自己不会被接纳时,向家庭和文化社区坦白的想法会令人望而生畏。

同性恋恐惧症以及缺乏家庭的接纳或支持,是许多已经出柜的男同志和男双性恋者不得不面对和承受的残酷现实。并非每个人都以相同的方式应对在阻力环境中出柜所遇到的逆境,但许多人在以男同志或男双性恋者的身份继续生活的过程中,用自己的方式接受并克服了这一挑战。

你不必立刻就决定向家人坦白。有些人终身都在挣扎着是否向家人坦白,有些人决定一辈子都不让家人知道。

但无数其他人都已经鼓足勇气,向家人和被认为不太认同同性恋的其他人,公开了自己作为男同志和男双性恋者的新生活。尽管起初遭遇失望、愤怒甚至排斥和摒弃是相当常见的,但是许多在保守环境中出柜的人都得以保持甚至强化了他们与家庭的关系。

Coming Out + Being ‘Out’

Whether you’ve already had sex with men, or you’ve just started to consider the possibility, making sense of your sexuality and being able to share it with others is an important aspect of a healthy and fulfilling life. It might be one of the hardest things you’ll ever have to do and may require time and careful planning, but “coming out” opens a world of opportunity to live openly and happily as a gay or bisexual man.

Coming Out in a Conservative Family
or Cultural Environment

Coming out can be a liberating experience of self-acceptance, discovery, and empowerment, but it can also be risky, complicated, and painfully stressful, particularly when we anticipate rejection, exclusion, or worse from our families. Whether it’s because of cultural or religious factors, the idea of coming out to our family and cultural community can be a terrifying prospect when we fear we won’t be accepted.

Homophobia and a lack of family acceptance or support are difficult realities that many gay and bisexual men who have come out have had to confront and persevere through. Not everyone deals with the adversity of coming out in an unsupportive environment the same way, but it’s a challenge that many have taken up and overcome in their own way as they move forward with their lives as gay or bisexual men.

Making a decision to come out to your family isn’t something that you have to do right away. Some men struggle with the challenge of coming out to their families their entire lives, and some make a decision to never share this information with their family.

But countless others have found the strength to be open about their new lives as gay and bisexual men with their families and others perceived to be less than accepting of homosexuality. While it’s fairly common to initially encounter disappointment, anger, and in some cases rejection and exclusion, many people who have come out in conservative environments have been able to maintain or even strengthen their relationships with their families.