出柜 + 公开

无论你是否已经与男性有过性生活,或刚刚开始考虑这种可能性,明白自己的性取向并能告诉其他人,是健康充实生活的一个重要方面。这可能是你不得不做的最艰难的事情之一,需要时间和谨慎策划,但“出柜”会打开一个充满机会的世界,让你以男同志或男双性恋者的身份公开而快乐地生活。

出柜生活

一般而言,男同志或男双性恋者“出柜”指的是,自己接受和公开自己在性和恋爱上受到其他男性吸引这一事实的持续过程。男同志或男双性恋者的出柜过程,始于他对自己和其他人承认他想要与其他男性在肉体和情感上发展亲密关系的时候。

尽管现代社会对同志权利的接受度日益提高,但是出于很多原因,许多受同性吸引的人仍无法“出柜”。例如,如果你的家庭、文化背景或宗教信仰对同性恋和同性恋者持负面态度,你可能会感到自己无法接受并公开谈论自己的性取向。

由于特定的文化或家庭背景,一些男同志和男双性恋者在压力面前,只能隐瞒自己的性取向,甚至主动过“异性恋”生活。但是,过双重生活,一个同志,一个非同志,无论是感情还是生理,都会令人精疲力竭。我们可能会害怕出柜的潜在后果,但也必须考虑隐瞒自己的性取向所付出的代价和牺牲。

出柜对任何人都是一个有风险的命题,但是坦诚对待自己的性取向能让你生活得更有意义更有满足感。随着你逐渐习惯于作为与男性发生性行为的男同志而坦然生活后,这一过程应由你自行控制和界定。

正如社会各界的多数男同志和男双性恋者将会证实的那样,向自己和其他人公开性取向可能是最艰难最恐怖的事情,但却是一种令人解脱和激动的人生经历。这已经帮助无数像你一样的人让自己更加轻松自信,看看这些人的故事,为你开始自己的出柜旅程提供一些启迪!

考虑事项

家庭 + 文化

Coming Out + Being ‘Out’

Whether you’ve already had sex with men, or you’ve just started to consider the possibility, making sense of your sexuality and being able to share it with others is an important aspect of a healthy and fulfilling life. It might be one of the hardest things you’ll ever have to do and may require time and careful planning, but “coming out” opens a world of opportunity to live openly and happily as a gay or bisexual man.

Living Out

Generally speaking, “coming out” as a gay or bisexual guy refers to an ongoing process of self-acceptance and openness about being sexually and romantically attracted other men. The coming out process for a gay or bisexual guy begins when he acknowledges to himself and to others that they desire physical and emotional intimacy with other guys.

Despite increasing acceptance of gay rights in modern society, there are many reasons why people who are attracted to the same sex are unable to ‘come out’. For example, if your family, cultural background, or religious faith holds negative attitudes regarding homosexuality and gay people, it can feel almost impossible to accept and talk openly about your sexuality.

Depending on the specific cultural or family background, some gay and bisexual men are pressured to keep their sexuality a secret, or even to actively pursue a ‘heterosexual’ life. Living a double life though – one gay, one non-gay – can be emotionally and physically draining. While we may fear the potential consequences of coming out, the costs and sacrifices made to keep our sexuality in the dark must also be considered.

Coming out can be a risky proposition for anyone, but being open about your sexuality will enable you to live your life with more purpose and satisfaction. It’s a process that you alone should control and define as you become more comfortable in living openly as a guy who has sex with guys.

As most gay and bisexual men from all walks of life will attest, coming out to yourself and to others can be one of the most difficult and frightening, yet liberating and exciting experiences in your life. It’s helped countless others like you feel more comfortable and confident about themselves – take a look at these guys’ stories for some inspiration on starting your own coming out journey!

Things to Consider

Family + Culture

Resources